Packard Lab

I’ve finally found my favorite building here at Lehigh. Most Lehigh students love Linderman Library for its architecture, the Alumni Memorial Building for its sheer size and Ivy covered facade, or Packer Church because of its history and purpose. However, out of all the places to take a seat and enjoy your day here at Lehigh (and there are a lot,)  my favorite is Packard Laboratory

IMG_1539

Built in 1928, Packard Lab, or Packard for short, is home to the P.C. Rossin College of Engineering here at Lehigh.

IMG_1540

The Gothic Style building was named after James Ward Packard, the inventor of the Packard Automobile and founder of The Packard Electric Company and the Packard Motor Car Company.

IMG_1535

Packard features numerous labs and several large lecture halls. Its peaceful and beautiful yet alive and central. As I write this I’m sitting in the first floor lobby, gazing at the stain glass windows of the front door, watching people going to and fro class, pondering the age of the marble walls, and appreciating the importance of the the 1899 Packard One Automobile resting next to me. Here, I can get my work done while taking in the history, the beauty, and learning that takes place in this building. A sentence can’t really describe the atmosphere, so I’ll just use words. Content,  At peace, ambitious.

IMG_1533 IMG_1537IMG_1536

Leave a comment